Why is it called mannheim steamroller?

Mannheim Steamroller is a new-age neoclassical music group started in 1974 by Chip Davis. The name comes from an 18th-century German musical style, Mannheim roller, a crescendo passage having a rising melodic line over an ostinato bass line, popularized by the Mannheim school of composition.