What is an m. m. a. fighter?

Mixed Martial Arts is a full-contact combat sport, that allows striking and grappling, both standing and on the ground, using techniques from various combat sports and martial arts. The first use of the term mixed martial arts was in a review of UFC 1, by television critic Howard Rosenberg in 1993.