What does b. e. l. i. e. v. e. r. spell?

B-E-L-I-E-V-E-R spells "believer," which refers to a person who believes that a certain assertion is true. It's most often used in reference to someone who adheres to a specific religious faith, or sometimes a political or religious ideology.