How do you prepare an eggplant?

Wash the eggplant and your hands. Cut off the stem end. You can cut the other end off if you wish. Using a vegetable peeler, peel longwise from one end of the eggplant to the other. Continue removing strips until the eggplant is peeled. You can also use a paring knife instead of a peeler.