Why is the moon shrinking?

Scientists recently discovered that the moon is slowly shrinking. As the interior of the moon cools, it contracts, reducing the overall circumference of the moon. The shrinking is also causing earthquakes which are detected by seismographs left behind during the Apollo missions.