Why is cheese so expensive?

The processing of the milk to turn it into cheese is expensive in terms of both labor and capital. Dairy herds contribute to the cost, as the goats, cows, or sheep have to be cared for & their milk transported. Every step in making cheese, including the aging process, adds to the cost of production.