Who were the yankees in the civil war?

During the Civil War, and even after the war came to an end, Yankee was a term used by Southerners to describe their rivals from the Union, or northern, side of the conflict. After the war, Yankee was once again mostly used to describe New Englanders. Yankees have been important players in politics.

---

The north or union army