When did income tax start?

The financial requirements of the Civil War prompted the first American income tax in 1861. At first, Congress placed a flat 3-percent tax on all incomes over $800 and later modified this principle to include a graduated tax. With the passage of the 16th amendment, income tax became what it is now.