What's a good substitute for ghee?

Butter is a good ghee substitute. You can also cook with alternatives like clarified butter, olive oil, coconut oil, canola oil, sesame oil, sunflower oil, and soybean oil. Any of these oils can be easily used as a clarified butter substitute also.