Is water vapor a greenhouse gas?

No. Water vapor does not control the Earth’s temperature. However, it is instead controlled by the temperature. As a result, water vapor is the largest contributor to the Earth’s greenhouse effect. On average, it probably accounts for about 60% of the warming effect.