Are cyclones and hurricanes the same thing?

Sort of. Giant spiraling tropical storms, with winds of at least 74 miles (119 km) per hour, are called hurricanes when they develop over the NorthAtlantic or Northeast & central NorthPacific; they're cyclones over the SouthPacific & Indian Oceans; and they're typhoons over the Northwest Pacific.