Where was the panama canal originally supposed to be built?

America originally wanted to build a canal in Nicaragua, not Panama. Throughout the 1800s, the United States, which wanted a canal linking the Atlantic and Pacific for economic and military reasons, considered Nicaragua a more feasible location than Panama.