Where do you find caves in minecraft?

Exposed cave entrances are usually stone and are found in the mountains. Caves will often have at least one ore block near the entrance, so you can be tipped off if you see a lot of coal or iron while you're walking, and you should investigate. Don't just look for caves, listen for them.