Tell me the history of pumpkin carving?

On all Hallow's eve, the Irish hollowed out Turnips, rutabagas, gourds, potatoes and beets. They placed a light in them to ward off evil spirits and keep Stingy Jack away. In the 1800's Irish immigrants came to America and quickly discovered that Pumpkins were bigger and easier to carve.