What is the manila pact?

The Southeast Asia Collective Defense Treaty, signed in Manila, Philippines, on Sept. 8, 1954, created a regional defense arrangement called the Southeast Asia Treaty Organization. Its purpose was to foster a system of mutual support to protect Southeast Asia against Communist expansion.