What do cats do in minecraft?

In Minecraft, Cats are passive & tameable, often found wandering in villages. Cats scare away nearby creepers and phantoms. A black cat can also be found at a "witch hut." They will additionally not take any fall damage, referring to the common misconception that cats always land on their feet.