Which six generals fought on the side of the union during the civil war?

Six generals fought against their home state during the Civil War. Three union generals, George Thomas of Virginia, John C. Breckinridge of Kentucky and David Farragut of Tennessee and for the confederation, John C. Breckinridge of Ohio, Samuel Cooper of NY and John Pemberton of Pennsylvania.