Are amphibians cold blooded or warm blooded?

Scientists call amphibians "ectotherms", since they cannot generate their own body heat the way mammals and birds do. Instead, they get heat from basking in the sun. Cold-blooded is a poor term since it suggests these animals are always cold, which is not correct.

---

Amphibians are cold blooded.