Is there a difference between chives and green onions?

The difference between chives and green onions are that chives are harvested by cutting off portions of the top of the plant, leaving the root system in place to continue growing. Green onions are harvested by pulling up the stem and bulb for use. Chives have a milder flavor than most green onions.