Where did the saying holy moly come from?

It is most likely a minced oath, a cleaned-up version of a taboo phrase such as "Holy Moses". It was popularized in the U.S. as an expression often used by Billy Batson, the alter ego of Captain Marvel, a superhero created for Fawcett Publications.