How do garbanzo beans grow?

Also called Chick Peas, garbanzo beans are grown in a pod. They're a cool area legume, that need about 100 days to reach harvest. They're planted about 2 inches deep, and 3 to 6 inches apart. Some master gardeners recommend starting them in your house before transplanting to the garden.