Where does the term glizzy come from?

According to Daily Rap Facts, the term “Glizzy” originated in America (around the Washington DC and Maryland (DMV) area) back in 2016, and is local slang for a gun. But along with it being as an alternate name for guns, people in the DC area have long used the phrase as another title for hotdogs