Why is it called corn on the cob?

when corn is grown, the individual kernels are grouped together on a piece of the stalk, and that section is known as a cob. If you cook the corn while it is still on the stalk, it is called "corn on the cob". You can then eat it directly, or you can cut the kernels off the cob to eat.