How do you know raw chicken is bad?

First, check that the chicken isn't past the expiration date. You can only trust the expiration date, if the chicken was stored correctly. A fowle odor could indicate the chicken is bad. A good rule of thumb is: if in doubt throw it out. Nobody likes explosive diarrhea.