What is a rick of firewood?

A rick is actually a description of the way a cord of wood is stacked. A cord of wood measures 4x4x8 feet, or 128 cubic feet, and a standard cord is piled in a 4x8-foot stack, or rick. Rick also refers to a stack of any other material, such as hay, left out in the open air.