How long is a fish year?

The majority of common Tropical fish live for an average of 3 - 5 years, while Goldfish are among those living the longest, potentially up to 20 years. Koi, who are cousins of the Goldfish, can live up to 40 years. One year in a Goldfish life is equal to 5 human years.