Who invented brass?

As far as we know, brass was discovered accidentally, when metalworkers in ancient Asia smelted a crude form of brass from zinc-rich copper ores around 500 BC. Then about 2,000 years ago, the Greeks and Romans began melting calamine ore, which contained copper and zinc (aka brass).