Why is coffee called coffee?

The word coffee appears to have been derived from the name of the region where coffee beans were first used in the 6th or 9th century (depending on author): kaffa (from the Keffa Zone in southwestern Ethiopia) derived from Kaffa Province, which was the name of the region in ancient Abyssinia.