Do ants eat dead ants?

Most ants are opportunistic feeders and can eat fruit, meat, seeds and vegetables. This would include dead ants. However, there are over 10,000 types of ants, and some ant species are omnivorous, some are herbivorous, some are carnivorous. Some ant species are cannibalistic, eating other ants.