What is an air rifle?

An air rifle is a weapon that propels the projectile by the use of compressed gas instead of an explosive charge. Air rifles typical shoot only small projectiles that are much smaller than a 22 caliber bullet, and at much lower muzzle velocities than a standard rifle, but they are still dangerous.