What's the coldest temperature ever recorded in the continental united states?

The coldest temperature recorded in the contiguous US. is 70 degrees below zero, measured at Rogers Pass, Montana, on Jan. 20, 1954. The oldest record was set on Jan. 22, 1885 on Mount Washington, New Hampshire, the highest peak in the Northeast, when the thermometer dropped to 50 degrees below zero