What's bigger a grizzly bear or a black bear?

Typically grizzly bears are larger than black bears but when one is suddenly close, you are not going to know the difference based on size. When standing, a black bear is generally 5 ft tall while a male grizzly can be around 6.5 ft tall. Only when standing next to each other is the size apparent.