What is a fast attack submarine?

In the United States Navy naming system, and in the equivalent NATO system (STANAG 1166), nuclear-powered attack submarines are known as SSNs and their anti-submarine (ASW) diesel-electric predecessors were SSKs. In the US Navy, SSNs are unofficially called "fast attacks".