What is the synthesizer?

A synthesizer (sometimes spelled "synthesiser") is an electronic keyboard that can generate or copy virtually any kind of sound, making it able to mimic the sound of a traditional instrument, such as a violin or piano, or create brand new, undreamed of sounds