What removes rust?

Commercial Rust remover products, or To remove rust from small items like knives and hand tools, soak them in a bowl of vinegar. You'll need to let them sit overnight. Remove the item and scrub with a metal brush or steel wool. Rinse with clean water and dry with a towel.