What removes rust?

To remove rust from metal, the long time choice is Naval Jelly. To remove rust stains from sinks, use a paste of baking soda and vinegar. To remove rust stains from clothing, soak the article in a solution of cream of tartar, baking soda, and hydrogen peroxide