What is the deadliest hurricane on record?

The Great Hurricane of 1780 is estimated to have killed over 20,000 people in the Caribbean. Hurricane Mitch in 1998 killed over 19,325 people in Central America and the Galveston Hurricane of 1900 killed between 6,000 and 12,000 people in the United States.