When did share start singing?

Cher, born on May 20, 1946, in El Centro, California, rose to stardom as part of a singing act with husband Sonny Bono in the 1960s, hitting No. 1 with the single "I Got You Babe", before they starred together on The Sonny and Cher Comedy Hour.