Where do portobello mushrooms grow?

Portabella mushrooms grow individually in the grass, near manure piles, and on leaf litter near conifers, especially Monterey cypress trees in the northern hemisphere. You can grow your own portabella mushrooms if you purchase a kit or in a garden if you buy the mushroom spores.