What does the x. and x. ray stand for?

Wilhelm Roentgen, a German physicist, discovered a new form of radiation in 1895. He called it X-radiation because he didn't know what it was. It was found to be a high energy wave in between ultra violet rays and gamma rays, but it kept its original name, X rays.