Where did rap music originate?

Rapping can be traced back to its African roots, centuries before hip-hop music existed, when the griots of West Africa were delivering stories rhythmically over drums and sparse instrumentation.

---

Rap as a genre began at block parties in NYC in the early 70s, when DJs began isolating the percussion breaks of funk, soul & disco songs$extending them. MCs tasked with introducing the DJs and keeping the crowd energized would talk between songs, joking and generally interacting with the audience.