How did cleopatra gain power?

Cleopatra was a keen observer and intelligent tactician who made herself inconspicuous when her older sisters usurped the throne. When Julius Caesar went to Egypt, Cleopatra snuck into his room by rolling herself into a carpet. Her relationship with Caesar gave her military clout and the throne.