How do you get poke coins in pokemon go?

You earn six Poké Coins per hour defending a Gym (a rate of 1 Poké Coin per 10 minutes). There is a cap of 50 Coins per day regardless of how Gyms you are defending. Your earnings will be delivered to you automatically when your Pokémon has been removed from the Gym.