How many cups are in an eight ounce block of cheese?

When measuring semi-hard cheeses, such as cheddar, or Swiss, 8 ounces of shredded cheese will fill 2 cups. Parmesan cheese, is different; one pound will fill about 4 1/2 cups when grated.