Why do creepers explode?

Creepers are hostile mobs in Minecraft, programmed to kill you each day and night, and are known to be pret... They explode because they were pigs who were unloved, beaten and abused, and thus mutated into evil beings of rage and explosive power. All they want is a hug, maybe