How to find sugar alcohol on label?

Food manufacturers may voluntarily list the amount in grams (g) per serving of sugar alcohols on the Nutrition Facts label (under Total Carbohydrate). They may also list the name of a specific sugar alcohol if only one is added to the food.

---

The term “sugar alcohol” is misleading: It’s neither sugar nor alcohol. They are a type of carbohydrate and have a chemical structure that’s similar to sugar. Common sugar alcohols include Xylitol. Erythritol, Sorbitol, and Maltitol. Check www.fda.gov or the product label for more information.