Why is there all women in ghostbusters reboot?

The 'Ghostbusters' reboot contains an all female cast due, in part, to creative and commercial decisions made by the production team. Casting takes into account a wide range of factors including; commercial considerations, box office returns, script requirements, and producer intuition.