How was africa formed?

Africa was formed by the breaking of Pangea in the Jurassic period, to form Gondwanaland, which included Africa, the other southern continents, and India. It was fully formed to what we know it today within a process between 75 to 20 million years ago, after the Atlantic Ocean and Red Sea opened up.