What is the significance of pearl necklaces in the world series?

Joc Pederson, the Atlanta Braves outfielder debuted a pearl necklace in late September 7 wore it throughout the team’s run to its first World Series appearance since 1999. He didn’t offer much of an explanation. 'There’s not much behind the pearl necklace,” Pederson said. “I like it. It looks good."