What is a gobstopper?

Gobstoppers, also called jawbreakers are a round hard candy. Some of them are quite large. Presumably Gobstoppers comes from the term GOB used primarily in the UK (meaning mouth) and Stopper: because they are too hard to chew you must keep your mouth closed until they melt away. (e.g. Shut your Gob)