What is the coronation?

A coronation is the act of placement or bestowal of a crown upon a monarch's head. The term refers not only to crowning, but to the whole ceremony wherein the act of crowning occurs, along with the presentation of other items of regalia, marking the formal investiture of a monarch with regal power.